First Day of 2nd Grade in San Juan, Puerto Rico

Kendra started second grade today. Her teacher speaks both Spanish, and English. This news made me very happy, for last year we did not have the luxury of a bi-lingual teacher. Kendra speaks minimal Spanish, and I speak non. Homework was very challenging last year. I was forced to hire a tutor to help Kendra with her homework. This year I simply cannot afford it. I am not sure how we will work this out, but I hope you check in with us often and we will figure this thing out together.

When I picked Kendra up from school today, of course I asked her how was her day. After she told me about her friends, and all the games that they played, she then told me that she did not understand most of what was said by her teacher. She said that she asked her teacher to explain it slower or in English, but the teacher never got to her. I can only imagine how much explanation was given on the firs day of school, and Kendra missed it all.

To add the children got out 1 hour early, because the school does not have a English teacher for 2nd grade, for the 20014-15 school year as of yet.

Leave a comment